Posted by: terryhowe | November 4, 2011

Extreme Programming Review

I’ve been doing Extreme Programming (XP) for about 7 years now and I felt it was about time to review the procedures for the latest updates and refresh the material in my mind.  I don’t always strictly use XP, but I always use some aspects of it.  There are aspects of XP that I just wouldn’t do without.  First, I’d like to review the concepts of XP.

  • Goals: People produce higher quality software more productively through multiple short development cycles.  The cost of changes is lower and precise requirements do not need to be gathered.
  • Activities:  The basic ativities of XP are coding, testing, listening, and designing.  I’m a big fan of automated unit and functional testing.
  • Values: The five values of XP are communication, simplicity, feedback, courage and respect.  My favorite value being simplicity and particularly coding for the needs of today.
  • Rules: The rule I most frequently break is write unit tests first.  The reason for this is so often I have no idea what I’m going to do until I start doing it.  Something I should work on I suppose.
  • Principles: Customer interaction on iteration level and embrace change.
Leave a Reply

Categories

